Advanced Search
» WALTER LAIRD
WALTER LAIRD

Walter William Laird (July 26, 1920 - May 30, 2002) played a major role in the development of Latin American dance in Great Britain after WWII. He was three times professional world champion in Latin dance. He has coached many successful dancers including Allan Tornsberg, Vibeke Toft, Espen Salberg, Jukka Haapalainen, Sirpa Suutari, Donnie Burns and Ian Waite. Peter Maxwell and Lynn Harman were among his first great champions and a couple upon whom much of his ultimate technique was developed. Laird was a member and examiner of IDTA, and until 2000 he was secretary (and later president) of the Federation of Ballroom Dancers.

Laird first danced with his sister Joan in the 1930s. His professional partner during and after the war was Andé Lyons (née Ashcroft, then Andé Tyrer). They met when Andé was sent to the Royal Aircraft Establishment, Farnborough as a stenographer. One day she took the dictation from Walter Laird, who was a scientist working there. At the end of the dictation, he asked her if she liked to dance.

The Laird-Lyons partnership was entirely a traditional ballroom dance. Laird did not switch to Latin until some time after the war. Laird's three World Championships (1962–1964) were in partnership with Lorraine Reynolds (now Rohdin), known professionally as "Lorraine". Walter later married Julie, who continues dance school in South London. One of Laird's greatest accomplishments was his Latin dance technique, first published in 1961; further editions in 1964, 1972, 1977, 1983, 1988, 2003. Initially, Laird followed the traditional descriptive format, but in 1972 he published the results of a major analysis of Latin dance and used a tabular form, including a column for 'action used' to help define. This edition was very influential and has since been accepted by many organizations of dance teachers as a definitive work.

View :
Number of products : 2
The administrator of the site is online now! Chat

Que recherchez-vous ?
» WALTER LAIRD
WALTER LAIRD

Walter William Laird (26 juillet 1920 - 30 mai 2002) a joué un rôle majeur dans le développement de la danse latino-américaine en Grande-Bretagne après la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Il a été trois fois champion du monde professionnel de danse latine. Il a entraîné de nombreux danseurs à succès, dont Allan Tornsberg, Vibeke Toft, Espen Salberg, Jukka Haapalainen, Sirpa Suutari, Donnie Burns et Ian Waite. Peter Maxwell et Lynn Harman étaient parmi ses premiers grands champions et un couple sur lequel une grande partie de sa technique ultime a été développée. Laird était membre et examinateur de l'IDTA, et jusqu'en 2000, il était secrétaire (et plus tard président) de la Fédération des danseurs de salle de bal.

Laird a dansé pour la première fois avec sa sœur Joan dans les années 1930. Son partenaire professionnel pendant la guerre et après était Andé Lyons (née Ashcroft, puis Andé Tyrer). Ils se sont rencontrés quand Andé a été envoyé au Royal Aircraft Establishment, Farnborough en tant que sténographe. Un jour, elle a pris la dictée de Walter Laird, qui était un scientifique qui y travaillait. À la fin de la dictée, il lui a demandé si elle aimait danser.

Le partenariat Laird-Lyons était entièrement une danse de salon traditionnelle. Laird ne passa au latin que quelque temps après la guerre. Les trois championnats du monde de Laird (1962–1964) étaient en partenariat avec Lorraine Reynolds (aujourd'hui Rohdin), connue professionnellement sous le nom de «Lorraine». Plus tard, Walter a épousé Julie, qui continue l'école de danse dans le sud de Londres. L'une des plus grandes réalisations de Laird fut sa technique de danse latine, publiée pour la première fois en 1961; d'autres éditions en 1964, 1972, 1977, 1983, 1988, 2003. Initialement, Laird suivit le format descriptif traditionnel, mais en 1972, il publia les résultats d'une analyse majeure de la danse latine et utilisa une forme tabulaire, comprenant une colonne pour ' action utilisée 'pour aider à la définition. Cette édition a été très influente et a depuis été acceptée par de nombreuses organisations de professeurs de danse comme une œuvre définitive.

Vue :
Nombre de produits : 2
L’administrateur du site est actuellement en ligne ! Discuter